Camera blocking is an Omnicast™ feature that lets you restrict the viewing of video (live or playback) from certain cameras to users with a minimum user level.
Camera blocking is targeted for installations that provide the general public with access to live video. In such cases, cameras might be streaming video that is not suitable for certain users. As a result, you can restrict users from viewing a segment or entire video capture by blocking the camera.
How it works
Camera blocking is based on a user attribute called the user level. The highest user level is 1 and the lowest user level is 254. If you block a camera, users with a lower user level than the one that you select cannot view video (live, playback, or cached) or export video for the amount of time that you set.
- A user can only block a camera for someone that has a lower user level. As a result, users with a user level equal to 254 cannot block anyone, and users with a user level equal to 1 cannot be blocked by anyone.
- A user with a user level that is higher than the blocking level of a camera can view the camera.
- A user can unblock or change the blocking level of a camera if their user level is higher or equal to the user who initially blocked the camera.
- If there's more than one blocking setting applied to a camera, the highest user level that was specified is the active blocking level.
- A user can unblock past video by selecting a section of the playback video timeline.