How video is displayed if the Directory role disconnects - Security Center 5.6

Security Center User Guide 5.6

series
Security Center 5.6
revised_modified
2019-10-09

The Security Center Directory role manages your entire system and without it you cannot log on to the system. If the server’s Directory role is disconnected from the rest of the system, Security Desk starts to operate in a degraded mode.

If you were viewing a camera, you remain connected to that camera’s live video stream even after you are logged out of the system. You can also view playback video if the live video was cached to your local workstation. Cached video is indicated by the orange bar at the top of the timeline.

Security Desk constantly attempts to reconnect to the Directory. Once reconnected, the operating mode reverts to normal. The following figure shows what the degraded mode looks like after a Directory failure.

A Connection state icon shows that you are disconnected
B Pop-up message appears indicating that the Security Desk is trying to reconnect
C The area view is unavailable
D Previously displayed cameras remain connected