[KBA-79010] Active Directory users deleted after upgrading to Security Center 5.8
This article explains why some Active Directory users are deleted from Security Center after upgrading to Security Center 5.8 GA or 18.104.22.168.
After upgrading to Security Center 5.8, existing users who were part of a user group that was managed by an Active Directory with the Create user on first logon option enabled, are deleted from Security Center when the first Active Directory role synchronization is performed (either manually or using a scheduled task).
The user group and the group configurations remain intact, but user-specific settings are lost, such as privileges, partition access rights, alarm recipients, event-to-actions, private tasks, and so on.
A coding error.
WorkaroundDo one of the following:
- If you did not have any user-specific configurations (privileges, partition access rights, alarm recipients, and so on) on your system, or if those configurations are no longer required, then no action is required. Deleted users will be re-created automatically when they log on to Security Center.
- Before upgrading to Security Center 5.8 GA or 22.214.171.124, disable any scheduled tasks that perform a Synchronize role action, and avoid triggering a Synchronize role action manually until the Security Center 126.96.36.199 patch version has been applied on all servers acting as a Directory or are running an Active Directory role.
- Apply the Security Center 188.8.131.52 patch version and restore a Directory database backup from a previous Security Center version before the 5.8 upgrade.
This issue will be fixed in Security Center 184.108.40.206. The 220.127.116.11 update will also be included in the full installer for Security Center 18.104.22.168.