Blocking users from viewing video - Security Center 5.9

Security Center User Guide 5.9

series
Security Center 5.9
revised_modified
2020-08-19

If something critical occurs during a video capture and it must not be made accessible to certain users, you can restrict users from viewing a segment or entire video capture by blocking the camera.

Before you begin

Do the following:
  • Make sure you have the Block and Unblock video user privilege.
  • Make sure that the camera you want to block is not from a federated Omnicast™ system.

What you should know

You can block a camera that is displaying live or playback video in a tile from any Security Desk task. For example, you can block a camera that is displaying live video from the Monitoring task, or block a video archive that is displaying playback video from the Archives task. Users with a lower user level than the one that you select cannot view video (live, playback, or cached) or export video for the amount of time that you set. If they try to view video from that camera during the blocked period, Blocked is displayed in the tile.

NOTE: In the System status task, you can block and unblock cameras, and view the current block status of a camera.

Procedure

  1. Select a camera displayed in a tile.
  2. Right-click in the tile, and click Camera > Block ().
  3. In the Start option, select the date and time to start blocking the video.
  4. In the End option, select the duration of video to be blocked:
    Until
    The video is blocked from users until the selected date and time.
    For
    The video is blocked from users for the selected time (days, hours, minutes, or seconds).
    Indefinitely
    All video from the Start time onward (including new recordings) is blocked from users until you manually unblock the camera.
  5. From the User level slider, select a minimum user level.

    All users with a user level lower than the one you select are blocked from viewing the video. The highest user level is 1 and the lowest user level is 254.

  6. Click OK.

    The camera is blocked to users that have a lower user level than the one that you selected. Users that have a higher or equal user level can see that the camera is blocked because dashes appear on the tile’s timeline.

  7. To unblock the camera, right-click inside the tile and click Camera > Unblock ().